The Internazionali BNL d'Italia is an annual clay-court tennis tournament which is held in Rome, Italy. The tournament is an ATP World Tour Masters 1000 event for men whereas it is a Premier 5 event on the WTA Tour for women’s competition.

The tournament features the best players for the second of the three Masters 1000 event contested on clay. The event is not just about great tennis, but it is a total entertainment experience with great food, high fashion, fabulous shopping destinations and musical performances by celebrities. All this have contributed towards making this one of the most glamorous events on the calendar.

Earlier, the event was known as Italian Open but from 2002 it changed to its current name. The tournament was also known as Italian tennis championship when it was held for the first time in 1930 in Milan. The tournament moved to Foro Italico in Rome in 1935, which is also its present venue.

Tournament Facts –

Venue – Foro Italico Surface – Clay / Outdoors Men’s Singles – 56 players Women’s Singles – 56 players Men’s Doubles – 24 pairs Women’s Doubles – 28 pairs Courts – The center court has a capacity of 8,000 spectators. Winner of most Men’s Singles titles – Rafael Nadal – 7 titles. Winner of most Women’s Singles titles – Chris Evert – 5 titles.